skip to main content

Conservationist of the Year

Conservationist of the Year Award

The Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA) has presented the Conservationist of the Year Award since 1984 to recognize significant conservation efforts. 

Ausable Bayfield Conservation plants a tree and installs a plaque at a Commemorative Woods site maintained by the Ausable Bayfield Conservation Foundation.

Individuals, organizations or companies who have completed conservation work within the ABCA region, can be nominated for the Conservationist of the Year Award. Current ABCA staff members and directors are excluded.

The Conservation Award acknowledges one individual or group per year who demonstrates positive conservation principles. The nominee must have undertaken conservation efforts over a number of years that have shown long-term benefits for the natural environment and society.

Examples of conservation work that protects soil, water, and living things, include:

  • Improving local water quality
  • Conservation farming
  • Reforestation
  • Environmental education
  • Providing wildlife and fish habitat
  • Promoting environmental awareness and action
Nomination Form

Download the Conservationist of the Year Nomination Form (2024 pending):

  • Conservationist of the Year Award Web Page– 1 MB large PDF file (pending)

Please send the nomination form prior to the deadline to:

Tim Cumming, Communications Specialist,
Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA), 71108 Morrison Line,
RR 3 Exeter, ON N0M 1S5 at ; Facsimile: 519.235.1963

Award Winners

The Conservationist of the Year Award winner, in 2023, was awarded to Peter Warner, and his late wife Esther:

A list of previous award winners is included in the nomination form.


Please contact Communications Specialist Tim Cumming or 519-235-2610, or toll-free 1-888-286-2610, extension 248 for additional information about the award and the names of past recipients.