skip to main content


Welcome to the Governance introduction page for Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA).

Introduction to ABCA Governance 

The Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA) is an independent, corporate body in Southwestern Ontario on the southeast shores of Lake Huron. It is one of Ontario’s 36 conservation authorities with the mandate to ensure the conservation, restoration and responsible management of Ontario’s water, land and natural habitats through programs that balance human, environmental and economic needs. The ABCA is governed by the Conservation Authorities Act.

For conservation authorities, the main mode of making decisions is through the Board of Directors. The ABCA board is comprised of nine people appointed by the 12 member municipalities: Adelaide Metcalfe, Bluewater, Central Huron, Huron East, Lambton Shores, Lucan Biddulph, Middlesex Centre, North Middlesex, Perth South, South Huron, West Perth and Warwick. Under the leadership of the General Manager/Secretary-Treasurer, staff implement the programs and services in compliance with ABCA policy and relevant legislation and regulations.

The Governance section of the website includes information on the Board of Directors and the meetings, financial reports, municipal agreements, bylaws, policies, strategic plans, Conservation Authorities Act and associated regulations. For information on ABCA Governance please use the tabs to the right or follow the links below.

Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA) Governance Web Pages