Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority

New Chair, Vice Chair for ABCA

George Irvin, Vice Chair, and Burkhard Metzger, Chair

Ausable Bayfield Conservation elects new Chair, Vice Chair

Burkhard Metzger, Central Huron, is new Chair; George Irvin, Bluewater, is new Vice Chair

Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA) elected a new Chair and Vice Chair at the Annual Meeting held on Thursday, February 16, 2017. Burkhard Metzger, of the Municipality of Central Huron, was elected as the new Chairman. George Irvin, of the Municipality of Bluewater, was elected as the new Vice Chairman.

Mike Tam, Past Chairman of the ABCA, has served in the role since 2014. Ausable Bayfield Conservation’s General Manager and Secretary-Treasurer, Brian Horner, thanked Tam for his dedicated service as Chair. Tam will continue to serve on the Board as a director as a representative from the Municipality of West Perth. Also continuing to serve on the Board are: Ray Chartrand (The Municipality of Huron East); Doug Cook (representing the municipalities of Lambton Shores and Warwick); Dave Frayne (representing the municipalities of South Huron and Perth South); Wayne Hall (representing the Township of Lucan Biddulph); and Bob Harvey (representing the municipalities of Adelaide-Metcalfe and Middlesex Centre).

Board member Don Shipway, of the Municipality of North Middlesex, indicated that he will step down as a director as his duties as Warden of Middlesex County don’t leave enough time to continue his work on the ABCA Board. He thanked directors and staff for their work and said he was honoured to serve on the Board.

The Board voted on and approved the 2017 Budget.

Staff reports included a Moving Forward report about re-engaging the public in work to update the 2000 Shoreline Management Plan (SMP). Staff presented the Board with a report with public re-engagement options (as had been requested by the Board at a special meeting in 2016 that drew more than 270 people). At the February 16, 2017 Annual Meeting and Board meeting, the Board of Directors approved recommendations, in the staff report, for moving forward in 2017 and 2018. The report is posted online on the shoreline management page at

Other staff reports at the Annual Meeting included flood messaging; fall tree order program and conservation lands updates; a conservation education update; a Conservation Foundation report; presentation of an unaudited profit and loss statement; and a report on consultation on a proposal to reduce the size of the source protection committee for the Ausable Bayfield Maitland Valley Drinking Water Source Protection Region.

The Board of Directors next meets on Thursday, March 16, 2017 at 2:30 p.m. The annual Conservationist of the Year awards evening takes place on March 16 as well. 

© 2018  | Website by Websmart Inc